Raa Atoll, formally known as Maalhosmadulu Uthuruburi is an administrative division of the Maldives, identified by the letter code: R. the Northern Area of the geographical Atoll Maalhosmadulu was named Raa Atoll after being divided into two sections. Northern Maalhosmadulu includes Alifushi and Etthingili (Powell Islands in Admiralty Chart), which is situated on their own detached reef with deep waters. Raa Atoll also shares Hanikandu or Moresby Channel with "Fasdh?tere" Atoll (part of Baa Atoll) which is located in between.

Raa Atoll lies 100 miles north-west of the Capital City Male’, and comprises of 88 islands. However, only 17 islands are inhabited by local Maldivians with the capital island being Ungoofaaru, whilst the following three islands have been converted into tourist resorts; Adaaran Select Meedhupparu, Adaaran Prestige Water Villas, and Loama Resort Maldives at Maamigili. The Domestic Airport: Ifuru Airport is situated in Raa Atoll as well.

Raa Atoll is an ideal diving location with the central area containing multiple Giri’s (Coral Patches), and a series of Faru (Oval reefs) is present at the western border. Well-known dive spots such as; Fenfushi Giri and Reethi Thila, with a variety of marine life, overhangs, caverns and submerged pinnacles are found in Northern Maalhosmadulu.


Honeymoon in Maldives by Travel Centre Maldives

Honeymoon in Maldives

Family Holidays by Travel Centre Maldives

Family Holidays

All Inclusive Holidays by Travel Centre Maldives

All Inclusive Holidays